Idea House

While paging through the November edition of Coastal Living, I found myself entranced by photos of their 2009 Idea House. I stared at each page, studying all the details and enjoying the overall effect created by each room.

I like when a space makes me stop and dream about using similar elements in my own home. Whether it be the color of a wall, the shape of a lamp, or the way different eras are brought together in one space using different pieces, I like when something makes me stop and think, reflecting over what exactly it is about the space that is drawing me in.

In the Idea House, each room was a new delight to study (minus a couple of rooms, which are not pictured here).

Living Room

I’m drawn to soft, subtle colors. I can’t pick just one favorite thing from this room—I love it all. The walls are such a beautiful color and look fantastic with the limed oak fireplace and the dark, moody artwork.

Dining Room

While I’m not wild about the teapot pattern of the wallcovering & drapes, I do like the idea of using the same fabric for a wallcovering and for drapes.  And using a giant pot for a table base—great idea!

Kitchen

I love two things about this kitchen. One: the black cabinetry—so beautiful. Two: the use of different materials on the island. I can’t wait until my husband & I have a larger house and can use this technique in our own kitchen. I like that it makes a kitchen feel unique and not like it was picked out of a catalog.

Screened Porch

The drapery. Full-height drapery will always hold a special place in my heart. It’s so elegant and luxurious. One way to add instant drama to a space.

Bedroom 1

Bedroom 2

Bedroom 3

Speaking of drama, that’s exactly what this master bedroom is: dramatic. I am a huge fan of using grey as the neutral in a space (rather than white or off-white). Paired here with a bright chartreuse, it’s simply stunning.

Guest bed 1

Another favorite color combination of mine: blue & green. Peaceful, bucolic, relaxing.

Bunks

This space is one of my favorites. I like the idea of using every niche in a house to its fullest, so when I saw these vibrantly colored bunk beds tucked away behind the horizontal grey bead board walls…I wished I were a kid again.

One Response to Idea House

  1. Kim says:

    Great feature! I’ve been intrigued by the use of vertical paint striping for some time now. I’ve thought of using it myself in a tone on tone scenario, or perhaps the same color but in alternating finishes (like satin – semi-gloss – satin) for dimension. I like seeing it here in complementary colors – interesting but not overwhelming thanks to use of the neutral!

Leave a Reply

