One Designer's Inspiration

Personally, I find it very difficult to start any project without some form of inspiration, whether it is a certain product, color, pattern or theme.  So I am always interested in what inspires other designers.

In this case, designer John Saladino, used the famous Vermeer painting, Girl With a Pearl Earring, as inspiration behind his design for a Manhattan show house featured in Veranda.

I think he captured the quiet stillness of the painting quite well in this soft and elegant space.  I love all the grays and taupes he used in this space–they are my favorite colors to use in interiors.  They are very sophisticated, clean colors that act as a great neutral backdrop for the rest of the space.  And they have an edge over white in that they are not white!  White certainly has its place in spaces, as do off-whites and tans and beiges, but it’s nice to mix things up once in a while and use a gray instead.  It’s a very beautiful, subtle alternative.

My favorite image of this space is the stairwell leading up to the second floor.  I need to file that one away as inspiration for my dream house!  I also love, love, love the weathered wood floors found throughout the space and am quite sad that I didn’t think of refinishing my own wood floors before we moved in as it’s too big a chore to do now!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

