Oh Wisconsin

It’s almost February.  It’s cold here.  And dreary.  And if it’s not dreary/foggy/rainy/snowing….it will be sunny, and 14 degrees.  (That’s actually the forecast for Friday, and that’s the HIGH.)  It’s difficult to feel inspired when you’re riding a wave of vitamin D deficiency, but I’m trying.  The image above, which hopefully links to Kindred, is my winter desktop image for the second year in a row, and it helps.  It’s so simple, and so warm looking.  Also, it makes me want to knit, which I am slowly learning.  (My husband is thrilled, because it means I bought a ton of yarn, and tangled it into a giant knot when trying to wind it into a ball, and got frustrated, so he was nice enough to untangle it without strangling me with it.)  I also plan to adopt someone’s grandmother so that she can teach me more than the absolute basics.

-Kim

What do you do to keep inspired in the depths of winter?

5 Responses to Oh Wisconsin

  1. danica says:

    Oh I SO can relate. I struggle this time of year as well so I’ve started a list on my facebook page and I’m adding to it as the winter drags on:

    What I LOVE about winter in Wisconsin:

    – Few things make me feel more like a kid than the anticipation of a snow day.
    – Stepping outside after Friday morning spin class is so refreshing.
    – A cup of hot coffee in the morning, hot tea in the afternoon and hot chili for dinner. Yum.
    – Tali (my 16 month old daughter) looks amazingly adorable in her winter hat and mittens.
    – Crawling under flannel sheets and a down comforter at the end of a long day.
    – Snow flurries dancing outside my window, in no hurry to get to the ground.

  2. Samantha says:

    Bake, eat, exercise! Repeat.

  3. Sara says:

    I bought a pretty pink Hyacinth this weekend at Whole Foods hoping that it would be a bright spot in all this dreariness. And it does help lift my spirits whenever I walk into my kitchen!

  4. Stacey says:

    I quilt. I love using bright colors and fun fabrics to make a warm quilt. Then I cuddle underneath it to read a good book, or watch tv with the kiddos and hubby. I am also loving winter again because of the kiddos and their excitement of going out to play in the snow, sled, build a snowman, throw snowballs etc. This has helped too.

Leave a Reply

