Painted Floors

When my husband and I moved into our house, we didn’t even consider refinishing the wood floors even though they needed it.  My assumption was that it was very expensive to do so I didn’t bother looking into it.  I have since learned that it’s not as expensive as I once thought, but it’s not inexpensive either.  It is, however, very messy as the dust from the wood gets EVERYWHERE (Kim can attest to this as this is a project she has lived through).

I’ve also discovered that painting your worn-out wood floors can be a less expensive, but no less beautiful, option to re-sanding and re-staining.  Exhibit A (care of Martha Stewart):

It really changes the look of a space and is an unexpected touch.  Prep work ranges from simply washing or vacuuming your floors to sanding them.  After that, it’s a matter of coming up with a pattern, doing a little taping off and painting.  A layer of polyurethane can be added on top to help protect the paint.  I’m tempted to try it out myself—I’ll share my process if I do!  Here are a few more painted floors for your viewing pleasure:

Coastal Living

Sherwin Williams

Cottage Living (Above four images)

Source unknown.

-Sara

3 Responses to Painted Floors

  1. My Owl Barn says:

    Absolutely gorgeous! I love the pattern in the fifth photo.

  2. I love the idea of painted floors – if only our house wasn’t carpeted!

  3. […] A couple of cozy porches.  Notice the painted floor of the second image…porches seem to be a very popular place to try your hand at painted floors! […]

Leave a Reply

