Take a Trip to Morocco

I’ve already expressed how much I love pattern, so it should come as no surprise that I’ve found more patterns to share!  Moroccan or Moroccan-inspired patterns have been popping up everywhere, in fabrics, in fashion, in furniture, and I’m in love.  There’s just something about the graphic nature of them that’s really appealing to me.  They’re bold, expressive and intricate all at the same time.  Take a look at some of my loves…

lallalydia.blogspot.com

Moroccan Tile Stamp

jimthompson.com

apartmenttherapy.com

cococozy.com

Ballard Designs – Trellis Wallcovering

Ballard Designs – Geneve Rug

3 Form – Marrakesh

West Elm – Morocco Headboard

Moroccan Arches

orangebeautiful.com

The last two images are great, aren’t they?  That’s not a wallcovering–the arches are stenciled onto the walls.  Such an easy technique and it adds so much drama and interest to this space.  I’m sure a lot of us cringe whenever we hear the word “stencil” in reference to walls and paint.  Remember the 80s and early 90s?  My sister had green vines stenciled onto her pink bedroom walls.  It took me many coats of white paint to cover those dark green vines!  Some of the newer stencils are so beautiful though, that I definitely say it’s worth it to think about stenciling if you want a change but don’t have a big budget.  Especially if the end product looks anything like the Moroccan arches above.

-Sara

Leave a Reply

