A New (Old) Paint

I’ve been doing a little bit of research into how to make a new home look authentically old. One surefire way is to use salvaged materials and I am definitely on board with this. I love the look (not to mention the history) of salvaged wood floors, doors, trim, furniture, lighting…pretty much anything salvaged!

In my research, I came across something I had never heard of before. Milk paint. While an old technique, it’s regaining popularity since it is organic, biodegradable and  completely VOC free and therefore quite the green product. I love the environmentally friendly properties of milk paint, but more so, I love the look of it. It is used most frequently on antiqued furniture, but can also be used to paint walls. The end visual is, well, it’s somewhat milky! Take a look:

It was used on all of the cabinetry in the images above, but you really get an idea of what milk paint looks like in the island. It’s kind of a white washed effect.

It comes in a powder form and all you have to do is add water. And of course, milk protein is one of the ingredients in the powder. It comes in a limited number of colors, but it’s a good range, and given that you can change the intensity of the color by how much water you add, there are really very many more colors than shown below!

If you’re interested in milk paint, these are two good websites to check out:

Milk Paint

Real Milk Paint

-Sara

3 Responses to A New (Old) Paint

  1. I’ve never seen milk paint in person – it looks perfect with that kitchen’s style…and would look good in my kitchen as well. Hmm, now I’m thinking about it!

Leave a comment