Getting Back to Business

Summer has certainly been sucking up all of my free time this year and so I have a few issues of House Beautiful lying at home, unopened and neglected. Which is disappointing, because I have found it to be a great source of inspiration over the past year. Thankfully though, the day job is slowing down just a tad for today so I’m taking some time to peruse their website. And just as I suspected…inspiration!

It’s no secret that as of late, I’m awfully enamored with the farmhouse or cottage lifestyle. Clean, white rooms full of beautiful old pieces of furniture suggesting a more casual, yet hardworking lifestyle. But let’s face it, I’m an Interior Designer, and it’s known that we can often have split personalities when it comes to styles. We see so much stuff that it’s hard not to fall in love with many differing things!

So here’s something a bit more modern for you. Still with a nice clean, white backdrop but with a beautiful pop of my favorite color—green!

 I just love that painted lily pad floor! Here is is up close:

 

This beach house is located in Oyster Bay, New York and was designed by Christina Murphy. Head on over to House Beautiful’s website and check out their interview with her. Now hopefully I can find some time soon to page through my stack of magazines at home…

-Sara

Leave a Reply

