A Pretty Picture

Why don’t we start off this short week with a pretty picture? Hopefully everybody had a great holiday weekend and got to enjoy some extra time off! I spent a good portion of the weekend dealing with the 80 pounds of tomatoes I bought from the farmer’s market. Yeah, I sort of overestimated how many pounds of tomatoes I would need to can enough diced tomatoes and tomato paste to last through the winter. But all is well as I found ways to deal with the extra 20 pounds!

This bedroom is nothing like my bedroom now, but I love it. It’s perhaps a tad too feminine for me, what with the ruffled bedskirt and mirrored side table, but I still love it. It’s simple, clean and inviting. My favorite part of this room is a toss-up between the rug and the bedframe…with the chandelier running close behind.

I find as I gain more experience as a designer, my tastes are really broadening. I used to only like ultra clean lined furniture and spaces. I would have said I loved modern design and was okay with most transitional design items. But now, I find I’m attracted to all sorts of styles. Five years ago I never thought I’d be someone who could fall in love with such a traditional looking space. Things sure have changed for me, but I think it’s great. One piece of design advice I’d love to share with everyone I meet is that we shouldn’t limit ourselves to one style or to what we think we should like. Like what you like, no matter what the style. Embrace who you are. You’ll be better off for it.

-Sara (Image links to source)

2 Responses to A Pretty Picture

  1. danica says:

    I’m loving that bench at the end of the bed and the thin border that runs between the ceiling and the windows. Do you think it’s painted? (the border, that is). oh and what did you do with all those tomatoes? Someday you will have to teach me to make tomato paste!

    • admin says:

      Hmm…it’s really hard to tell if that is painted or not! My guess would be that it is.

      I did all sorts of crazy stuff with those tomatoes…I made paste with a bunch of them (super easy, you just have to cook the tomatoes down for hours), I diced a bunch of them, pureed some and then oven dried some. There were a lot of tomatoes, but now I’m set for the winter!

Leave a Reply

