Fall Decorations

I’m not a ‘decorate for the season’ person…the one exception being Christmas. Though, come to think of it, I didn’t even do that last year as I was very busy and we spend Christmas at our parent’s houses so it seemed pointless . It’s not that I’m anti-holidays or anti-seasons, I’m just someone who tries not to create extra work for herself.

That being said, I do love when people decorate for the holidays, so I am happy that all people are not me! I’ve been spending the last hour or so taking a look at simple decorating ideas. Who knows? Maybe some of them will rub off on me and I’ll end up doing a little bit of fall decorating. Here are some of my favorite ideas.

The first three are from Better Homes & Gardens. I especially love the idea of just putting some pretty branches in a vase.

Using a bunch of different shapes of gourds in the same color can be quite elegant:

Or how about stringing a bunch of little gourds together for some homemade garland? Adorable!

Perhaps most simply of all, a nice arrangement of fall pumpkins, gourds, squash, branches and leaves is always nice.

 It’s no surprise that I’m attracted to the decorations that require the least effort. No wrestling with branches and corn husks to create a wreath for me. Nope, I prefer a much simpler, more elegant arrangement of gourds on the table or some dried branches in a vase. I think I just may have to make a trip to the farmer’s market this weekend to search for some gourds. I may decorate for fall this year after all!

-Sara

Leave a Reply

