Desk Alternative

This morning I came downstairs and noticed the laptop on the dining room table.  Again.  This totally bugs me, but I get it, because our office is Un. Useable.  We have a bitty corner desk, next to which is a file cabinet, next to which is a drafting table, under which is a little plastic drawer tower so you can’t fit your legs under and oh my goodness it makes me cringe just to think of it!  Any time we need to spread out papers, or look at something side by side, we set up in the dining room….with its big expanse of flat work surface….(!)  (That was an idea happening)  Why not just get another dining table, and use it as a desk!!  I’ve been toying with starting over and getting a bigger desk, but bigger desks just never seem BIG enough!

I mentioned this to my husband and he looked at me like I was crazy.  A DINING table in the OFFICE?  But, but….you can’t do that!  And I thought, well I’ll just show him how awesome it could be!  (Yes, there is still the issue of where does the printer go, but come on, we’re architects.  Surely we can think of something!)

source  How cool to build in little cubbies to shove stuff!

source

source  both of these last ones feature the Ikea Melltorp table, with moveable storage units below.  This is EXACTLY what I mean, and at $70 for the big one, the price isn’t too shabby either!

source

source

source  I just love the well worn wood here

source  Look how much you can spread out!  And that’s not even a huge table – it’s just deeper than all those puny little office sized desks.

source  I’m sort of lusting after the worn in look of this table.  Perhaps this is an opportunity to try out that milk paint thing??

source

source

source

source

source  She just set her printer on a corner.  We could do that!  Currently we have two printers, but we could probably consolidate to one and just let it live on the table.

I’ve even gone so far as to find some potentials on my local craigslist.

I think they have serious refinishing potential, and they’re all under $100!  The ones pictured with chairs even come with them, and who doesn’t occassionally need to pull up an extra chair.  It’s weird to make your dad pull up a too tall barstool.  Trust me.

So, I’m pretty much sold.  What do you think?  Would you do table as desk? 

3 Responses to Desk Alternative

  1. […] …that this guy is coming home with me to live in my office! […]

Leave a Reply

