Still Haven't Started That Chair

Argh.  Ok guys, I promise that this is the last post about my darn chair until I actually start doing something about it!  I have it home now, and it’s more or less where it will live.

Now, forgive the photoshop job on all of these following images, but I have a vision for this corner, and I thought that a picture was worth 1,000 words.  I know I want some sort of overhead floor lamp, because this will be my reading chair, and duh, you can’t read in the dark.  I’ll also need a side table, and a small one is in order here, so I’ve tossed in one from Target that we used in a past project.  I’ve also been hinting to my husband that I would like some bookshelves in that corner that relate to the little niche you can see on the right side of the image (ignore the fan…that’s not decorative).  Finally, with some of my options, I feel like I need a shag rug.

Like I’ve said, I thought solid might be best for ease of construction….but it’s so boring.

I tried it in a color (I don’t want to go dark as we have light colored pets)….and I still think it’s boring.  Better…but….

So then I went for prints.  I found all of these options on fabric.com for less than $10/yd, which is right in my budget.  The colors are all more vibrant than shown because I made it a little transparent so you could still see the outline of the chair.  I didn’t want to bother matching up the pattern because, well, that would be just as difficult as actually upholstering it!  So with that, all the patterns would actually be smaller than the bold graphics.

So NOW I feel like I have TOO many options!  I think patterned definitely looks the best, and modernizes the chair, which is part of my goal.  I think I may just need to order a whole bunch of samples.  Do you have a favorite?

6 Responses to Still Haven't Started That Chair

  1. Sara says:

    I like the first two quite a bit, but my favorite is the last one!

  2. Elsa says:

    AAH the second-to-last one with the spotty circles!

  3. Liz says:

    So.. I like the geometric pattern at the bottom the best I think. Although I did also like the white, and maybe just a fun patterned pillow that you could change out if you get sick of it?

    I like the floral ones too.. I’d just be afraid you’d get sick of them faster than the geometric.. but I suppose maybe I’m thinking of Me and not You… so that’s my opinion!

    I like how the corner is going to look though! Get Darin on those shelves!

  4. I love the second print!!

  5. Cathy says:

    Hi,

    I’m also looking into reupholstering a wingback chair, and found your wonderful blog through google!

    I have been having the same question as you, and cannot decide the colors. It seems that simple lines/prints or solids with bold colors are the key to modernize the chair, however I agree the solids are a little bit boring (which is unfortunately the characteristics of modern furnitures.)

    Please keep us updated on the reupholstery project!

    • Kim says:

      Hi Cathy! I’m actually starting to make forward progress on that “little” project – be sure to check back for updates! Thanks for reading.
      ~Kim

Leave a comment